Julian Lage – Arclight (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Julian Lage – Arclight (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:50 minutes | 755 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

Julian Lage’s Mack Avenue debut, marks his first recorded outing on electric guitar and in a trio format, backed by double bassist Scott Colley and drummer Kenny Wollesen. Like that titular intense white light, Lage is a performer who burns brightly.

Lage was at the centre of the 1997 documentary Jules at Eight and has since come a long way to established himself as a true musician. After releasing two albums in late 2014 – the acoustic Avalon with Chris Eldridge and Room with Nels Cline – Julian Lage returns a year and a half later with what is officially branded a solo LP, Arclight. He’s joined by bassist Scott Colley and drummer Kenny Wollesen, both of whom would subsequently tour with the guitarist as the Julian Lage Trio. For a recording first, Lage exclusively plays the electric guitar on the set, which includes seven originals and four covers. Highlights from the originals include the atmospheric “Stop Go Start,” which is most concerned with timbre, and “Prospero,” an elegant rocker. Among the cover highlights is an inspired take on the Sammy Fain classic “I’ll Be Seeing You,” though the album is short on weak moments much less tracks, despite a variety of tempos and tones. Arclight was produced by Grammy winner Jesse Harris (Norah Jones, John Zorn).

01 – Fortune Teller
02 – Persian Rug
03 – Nocturne
04 – Supera
05 – Stop Go Start
06 – Activate
07 – Presley
08 – Prospero
09 – I’ll Be Seeing You
10 – Harlem Blues
11 – Ryland

Julian Lage – guitar
Scott Colley – double bass
Kenny Wollesen – drums