Jonny Teupen – Play Harp (1966/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Jonny Teupen – Play Harp (1966/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 41:24 minutes | 787 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: HighResAudio | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

The harp may not be considered a major instrument in jazz, and Casper Reardon Dorthy Ashby may not be household names, yet the instrument has a long and continuing history in the music. Jonny Teupen belongs to the European part of that history. Much sought-after for his ability to fit in both classical and pop musical worlds, Teupen played with the Berlin City Opera, and performed in concert and on radio and TV throughout Europe. On Play Harp, Teupen intertwines baroque with mainstream jazz, and in so doing weaves a colorfully rich musical tapestry. An all-star rhythm section includes three Afro-American stalwarts, bebop drum legend Kenny Clarke, bassist Jimmy Woode, known for his work with Duke Ellington, and reed player Sahib Shihab. Harpsichord, vocals, and a string quartet thread their ways into the works as well. The music varies from intimate quartet to full-blown chamber orchestra, but the intent is the same: to demonstrate that baroque swings. Minuett Nr. 1 with its cordial flute-harp embrace and solid walking bass, the string-backed swing of Barockin’ The Blues with it’s filigree harp and breathy flute solos, the exquisite counterpoint of the vocal-harp duet on the first part of Handel’s Concert for Harp and Orchestra, and the harp’s beautiful courtly dance with the bass on Pavane express the universality of music; it’s a mix that makes for laid-back listening pleasure.

01 – Bourree
02 – Menuett Nr. 1
03 – Fugato
04 – Konzert Für Harfe Und Orchester, Op.4, Nr.6, B-Dur: 3. Satz
05 – Prelude
06 – Minuetto Per Un Apra
07 – Gavotte
08 – Barock on Harp
09 – Barockin’ the Blues
10 – Konzert Für Harfe Und Orchester, Op.4, Nr.6, B-Dur: 1. Satz
11 – Menuett Nr. 2
12 – Konzert Für Harfe Und Orchester, Op.4, Nr.6, B-Dur: 2. Satz
13 – Etude in C
14 – Pavane
15 – Intrada
16 – Andante

Produced by Friedel Berlipp. Engineered by Gert Lemnitz & Rolf Donner.
Recorded at SABA Studio, Villingen & Eurodisc Studio, Köln, Germany.
Digitally remastered in 2015.

Jonny Teupen – harp
Blanche Birdsong – vocals
Sahib Shihab – flute
Francis Coppieters – harpsichord
Jimmy Woode Jr. – bass
John Fischer – bass
Kenny Clarke – drums
Stuff Combe – drums