Jon Nakamatsu – Schumann Carnaval, Op. 9 – Papillons, Op. 2 – Sonata in G Minor, Op. 22 (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Jon Nakamatsu – Schumann: Carnaval, Papillons & Sonata in G minor (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:05:11 minutes | 954 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

Jon Nakamatsu is ideally suited to Schumann: he has the staggering technique expected from a Van Cliburn winner but also poetry and delicacy are uppermost in his playing. His nine recordings for harmonia mundi USA range from Chopin and Brahms, via Rachmaninov to Gershwin, and most recently the Brahms Piano Quintet with the Tokyos. His next recording will be of Brahms, Beethoven and Weber with Clive Greensmith, formerly of the Tokyo String Quartet and Jon Manasse on clarinet.

Robert Schumann (1810-56)
01. Piano Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op.22: I. So rasch wie möglich
02. Piano Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op.22: II. Andantino. Getragen
03. Piano Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op.22: III. Scherzo. Sehr rasch und markiert
04. Piano Sonata No.2 in G minor, Op.22: IV. Rondo. Presto-Prestissimo
05. Papillons, Op.2: I. Introduzione
06. Papillons, Op.2: II. No.1
07. Papillons, Op.2: III. No. 2: Prestissimo
08. Papillons, Op.2: IV. No. 3
09. Papillons, Op.2: V. No. 4
10. Papillons, Op.2: VI. No. 5
11. Papillons, Op.2: VII. No. 6
12. Papillons, Op.2: VIII. No. 7: Semplice
13. Papillons, Op.2: IX. No. 8
14. Papillons, Op.2: X. No. 9: Prestissimo
15. Papillons, Op.2: XI. No. 10: Vivo
16. Papillons, Op.2: XII. No. 11
17. Papillons, Op.2: XIII. No. 12: Finale
18. Carnaval, Op.9: I. Préambule
19. Carnaval, Op.9: II. Pierrot
20. Carnaval, Op.9: III. Arlequin
21. Carnaval, Op.9: IV. Valse noble
22. Carnaval, Op.9: V. Eusebius
23. Carnaval, Op.9: VI. Florestan
24. Carnaval, Op.9: VII. Coquette
25. Carnaval, Op.9: VIII. Réplique
26. Carnaval, Op.9: IX. Papillons
27. Carnaval, Op.9: X. Lettres dansantes
28. Carnaval, Op.9: XI. Chiarina
29. Carnaval, Op.9: XII. Chopin
30. Carnaval, Op.9: XIII. Estrella
31. Carnaval, Op.9: XIV. Reconnaissance
32. Carnaval, Op.9: XV. Pantalon et Colombine
33. Carnaval, Op.9: XVI. Valse allemande
34. Carnaval, Op.9: XVII. Paganini
35. Carnaval, Op.9: XVIII. Aveu
36. Carnaval, Op.9: XIX. Promenade
37. Carnaval, Op.9: XX. Pause
38. Carnaval, Op.9: XXI. Marche des Davidsbündler contre les Philistins

Jon Nakamatsu (piano)