John Surman, Nelson Ayres & Rob Waring – Invisible Threads (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

John Surman, Nelson Ayres & Rob Waring – Invisible Threads (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 59:13 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

Like every great instrument blower, John Surman has a sound you’ll recognize from the first breath. A sound which is as much fed by the culture of his British motherland (local folklore is one of the components of his music) as by the culture from other countries. The saxophonist and clarinetist has crossed paths with pianist Nelson Ayres—well-known by the fans of Brazilian jazz for his work with Airto Moreira and Milton Nascimento—during a tour in South America. And it’s in Oslo that he met the American vibraphonist Rob Waring, an expat in Scandinavia… With Invisible Threads, the three men gathered to perform a programme mostly composed of Surman’s original pieces, recorded in Oslo in July 2017, under the artistic supervision of Mr. ECM, Manfred Eicher. This program is like an ode to melodies that transcend dialects. Once again, John Surman unfolds very singular and beautiful narrations, parcels of internal joys that are almost melancholic, at the heart of which the improvisations are drunk like divine elixirs. This jazz is of course different. And as the saxophonist has been a resident at ECM for decades, he’s also one of the components of the sound of the label from Munich, now more than ever.

1. At First Sight (02:33)
2. Autumn Nocturne (06:52)
3. Within the Clouds (04:48)
4. Byndweed (05:11)
5. On Still Waters (04:45)
6. Another Reflection (01:33)
7. The Admiral (05:15)
8. Pitanga Pitomba (07:06)
9. Summer Song (05:22)
10. Concentric Circles (06:32)
11. Stoke Damerel (03:37)
12. Invisible Threads (05:39)

John Surman, soprano and baritone saxophones, bass clarinet
Nelson Ayres, piano
Rob Waring, vibraphone, marimba