John Prine – John Prine (1971/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

John Prine – John Prine (1971/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 44:47 minutes | 1,74 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:47 minutes | 962 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Genre: Country | © Rhino Atlantic

“John Prine” is the first album by American Country/Folk singer-songwriter John Prine. His 1971 self-titled debut set the tone for the rest of his career. A critical smash and a commercial disappointment, the record contains many of his best known compositions. Proving himself capable of tackling folk balladry, country, and rock with ease, Prine seems to spring into being as a fully formed singer-songwriter at age 24. Lyrically diverse, Prine offers topical songs such as “Sam Stone”, the tale of a drug addicted Vietnam vet, achingly sad songs, such as the oft-covered “Angel from Montgomery”, and, of course, his trademark wit gets ample time in the spotlight. Produced by the legendary Arif Mardin (Aretha Franklin, the Modern Jazz Quartet, Hall and Oates), the record is understated, letting Prine’s comfy voice drive things. When needed, the famous house band at American Recording Studios in Memphis kicks in tasteful backing.

A revelation upon its release, this album is now a collection of standards: “Illegal Smile,” “Hello in There,” “Sam Stone,” “Donald and Lydia,” and, of course, “Angel from Montgomery.” Prine’s music, a mixture of folk, rock, and country, is deceptively simple, like his pointed lyrics, and his easy vocal style adds a humorous edge that makes otherwise funny jokes downright hilarious.


01 – Illegal Smile
02 – Spanish Pipedream
03 – Hello In There
04 – Sam Stone
05 – Paradise
06 – Pretty Good
07 – Your Flag Decal Won’t Get You Into Heaven Anymore
08 – Far From Me
09 – Angel From Montgomery
11 – Donald And Lydia
10 – Quiet Man
12 – Six O’Clock News
13 – Flashback Blues

FLAC 24-192


FLAC 24-96