John Lake – Seven Angels (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

John Lake – Seven Angels (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 58:31 minutes | 682 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Outside in Music

Compelling is the first word that comes to mind in describing John Lake’s debut record as a leader. Eight Lake originals, adjoined by three reimagined tunes from the past, comprise Seven Angels. A seasoned studio musician and sideman, Lake knew his time had come. He is joined by five stellar musicians who collectively build a liquid sextet.

A lesser known artist doesn’t have the luxury of time. He/she has to grab attention quickly. With that in mind, Lake presents “The Bet,” with his formidable rhythm section crafting and sharing a tight yet flexible pocket that grooves to its core. Pianist Steven Feifke, drummer {Jeff Davis}} and bassist Marcos Varela use the rhythm section nucleus to establish their own identities. All the while holding the space for tenor saxophonist Paul Jones, alto saxophonist Michael Thomas and Lake himself to share a singular moment in time with a multitude of individuality. Jones sharply seized the opportunity to push it forward and open up a door, that Lake robustly bursts through.

A cascading piano run opens the celestial voyage of “Nightwatch.” The melodious steps by the horn section glide by and are induced by the deeply rooted and poised rhythm section. A stirring tenor sax bite leads full circle back to the piano, now engaged with drum splashes. Lake’s vocabulary speaks volumes in this journey and punctuates the conclusion of his mythical composition.


1. John Lake – The Bet
2. John Lake – Nightwatch
3. John Lake – Ladybird
4. John Lake – Whelmed
5. John Lake – Intro To Pearls
6. John Lake – Pearls Of The Tartar
7. John Lake – A Shade Of Jade
8. John Lake – Seven Angels
9. John Lake – Signal Changes
10. John Lake – Cloud Down
11. John Lake – Everything I Love