John Gary – Sings/Swings (1968/2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

John Gary – Sings/Swings (1968/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:55 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

A pleasing vocalist with a warm delivery reminiscent of Andy Williams or Tony Bennett, John Gary unfortunately came along just at the beginning of the British Invasion and never managed to make much of an impression on the adult vocal audience. Born in 1932 in Watertown, New York, he was a singer on Don McNeill’s radio show Breakfast Club before signing a contract with RCA Records in 1962. Though only one single charted on the U.S. pop charts the Top 100 “Soon I’ll Wed My Love” in 1964 John Gary did reach the Top 20 with mid-’60s LPs such as The Nearness of You, Encore, and A Little Bit of Heaven, and fared even better on the easy listening charts (with albums including the number one Cold) and Cash Box, where Gary albums hit the Top Ten twice. He also covered a wide repertoire for the time, from show tunes to country hits and romantic ballads though, remarkably, very few of the novelty pop songs which dragged down fellow vocalists.

01. A Foggy Day
02. In the Still of the Night
03. I’m Glad There Is You
04. It’s Magic
05. September Song
06. Portrait of My Love
07. You And I
08. You’re My Everything
09. Paper Doll
10. “A”-You’re Adorable
11. I’ll Walk Alone
12. I Don’t Want to Set the World On Fire