John Di Martino Romantic Jazz Trio – Magical Mystery (2008) [Japan 2017] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

John Di Martino Romantic Jazz Trio – Magical Mystery (2008) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 72:51 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,96 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,5 GB
Genre: Jazz

John Di Martino, composer, arranger, pianist, has recorded many CD’s for Venus Records with his “Romantic Jazz Trio”. Noted for his versatility, John has performed and recorded with such notables as Kenny Burrell, James Moody, Joe Lovano, David “Fat Head” Newman, Pat Martino, Paquito D’Rivera and Houston Person.

Of the 70 published Monk compositions, two dozen or so are performed more often than the rest. With that thought in mind, it is more difficult for a pianist to break new ground on a record date, though Di Martino has a few twists in store. Monk’s “Epistrophy” alternates between an intense staccato attack and a straight-ahead bop groove. “‘Round Midnight” is easily Monk’s best-known work; Di Martino doesn’t overly attempt to stretch the boundaries of its theme, but improvises thoughtfully while maintaining the essence of its haunting melody. The fun romp through “Well, You Needn’t” contrasts with the relaxed setting of “Eronel.” Di Martino’s lyrical title track is a tribute to Monk and (presumably) Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami, an enjoyable piece that doesn’t attempt to mimic Monk’s writing style.

01. Epistrophy
02. Criss Cross
03. Bemsha Swing
04. Ask Me Now
05. Rhythm -A- Ning
06. Round Midnight
07. Well You Needn’t
08. Pannonica
09. Eronel
10. Ugly Beauty
11. Magical Mystery ~for Monk and Murakami
12. Blue Monk
13. In Walked Bud

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on June 1 & 2, 2007 at The Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-214.

John Di Martino – piano
Essiet Okon Essiet – bass
Victor Jones – drums



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz