Johannes Brahms – String Quartets Nos. 1 & 3 – Artemis Quartet (2015) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Johannes Brahms – String Quartets Nos. 1 & 3 – Artemis Quartet (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:21 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | @ Warner Classics/Erato

The Artemis Quartet pairs Brahms’ intense First Quartet with his lighter-spirited Third Quartet, both works that the Artemis’ cellist, Eckart Runge, describes as “remarkable and multi-faceted”. He says that “Brahms marries a Romantic spirit with the structure and forms of Classicism. There is an almost symphonic approach in the writing, but at the same time the quartets are imbued with a sense of warmth, immediacy, friendship and love that is interwoven with a more spiritual, timeless beauty”.

“As the excellent German group the Artemis remind us, the C minor is the composer at his most compelling and passionate, with complex, pulsating cross-rhythms, daring changes of key and expressive melodies. The later, more playful B flat also receives a fine performance, at once dynamic and subtly flexible.” –The Sunday Times

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 51 No. 1
1 I. Allegro 10:21
2 II. Romanze – Poco adagio 06:48
3 III. Allegretto molto moderato e comodo 08:44
4 IV. Allegro 06:18
String Quartet No. 3 in B-Flat Major, Op. 67
5 I. Vivace 10:27
6 II. Andante 07:10
7 III. Agitato (Allegretto non troppo) – Trio – Coda 08:12
8 IV. Poco Allegretto con Variazioni 10:21

Vineta Sareika, Gregor Sigl violins
Friedemann Weigle viola
Eckart Runge cello