Joe Cocker – With A Little Help From My Friends (1969) [Audio Fidelity 2015] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Joe Cocker – With A Little Help From My Friends (1969) [Audio Fidelity 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:48 minutes | Scans included | 1,64 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 844 MB
Mastered for SACD by Kevin Gray | Audio Fidelity # AFZ-209 | Genre: Rock

Joe Cocker’s debut album holds up extraordinarily well across four decades, the singer’s performance bolstered by some very sharp playing, not only by his established sideman/collaborator Chris Stainton, but also some top-notch session musicians, among them drummer Clem Cattini, Steve Winwood on organ, and guitarists Jimmy Page and Albert Lee, all sitting in. It’s Cocker’s voice, a soulful rasp of an instrument backed up by Madeline Bell, Sunny Weetman and Rossetta Hightower that carries this album and makes “Change in Louise,” “Feeling Alright,” “Just Like a Woman,” “I Shall Be Released,” and even “Bye Bye Blackbird” into profound listening experiences. But the surprises in the arrangements, tempo, and approaches taken help make this an exceptional album. Tracks like “Just Like a Woman,” with its soaring gospel organ above a lean textured acoustic and light electric accompaniment, and the guitar-dominated rendition of “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” – the formal debut of the Grease Band on record – all help make this an exceptional listening experience. The 1999 A&M reissue not only includes new notes and audiophile-quality sound, but also a pair of bonus tracks, the previously unanthologized B-sides “The New Age of Lily” and “Something Coming On,” deserved better than the obscurity in which they previously dwelt.

01. Feeling Alright
02. Bye Bye Blackbird
03. Change in Louise
04. Marjorine
05. Just Like a Woman
06. Do I Still Figure in Your Life?
07. Sandpaper Cadillac
08. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
09. With a Little Help from My Friends
10. I Shall Be Released

Mastered for this SACD by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz