Joachim Kuhn – This Way Out (1973/2015) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Joachim Kuhn – This Way Out (1973/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:20:12 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: HighResAudio | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

Joachim Kühn is joined by Daniel Humair, one of Europe’s most celebrated drummers, along with bassist/cellist Peter Warren, whose play has graced the albums of such diverse greats as Clarla Bley and John Scofield. The impressionistic miniature Brother Rolph serves as an introduction, the up-tempo Byg Bridge spans over to the helter-skelter of Amok, while the well-named ballad She’s a Beauty precedes the straight-ahead swing of Spaced In. Kühn tenders a personal solo-rendering of the classic Body And Soul, then switches to alto sax on the harsh, ritualistic Phallic Dance. Juxtaposition features contrasting solo and group dynamics, and the trio show their standards chops on the medium-tempo All The Things You Are. The musical snapshot Paris 72 book-ends the 10 trio pieces. German saxophonist Gerd Dudek, whose playing credentials include Carla Bley and Don Cherry, joins the trio on the next six pieces. He takes up soprano on the Latin-like This Way Out, while he’s on tenor and Kühn on alto with hell-bent free solos on Do Dat Dudek. Sound Color One and Two are miniatures that explore the possibilities of musical textures. Other Way Out is a free dialogue between piano and soprano, and Unison Union brings the quartet together in a display of intuitive inspiration. 16 pieces of creative brilliance.

01 – Brother Rolf
02 – Byg Bridge
03 – Amok
04 – She’s a Beauty
05 – Spaced In
06 – Body and Soul
07 – Phallic Dance
08 – Juxtaposition
09 – All the Things You Are
10 – Paris ’72
11 – This Way Out
12 – Do Dat Dudek
13 – Sound Color One
14 – Sound Color Two
15 – Other Way Out
16 – Unison Union

Produced by MPS-Records.
Recorded in January 1973 at MPS Studio, Villingen, Germany.
Digitally remastered in 2014.

Joachim Kühn – piano, alto saxophone
Gerd Dudek – tenor & soprano saxophone, flute
Peter Warren – bass, cello
Daniel Humair – drums, percussion