Joachim Kuhn – Love & Peace (2018) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Joachim Kühn – Love & Peace (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 46:31 minutes | 947 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

Love and peace. The program of this album by Joachim Kühn has the merit to be clear. With drummer Eric Schaefer and double bass player Chris Jennings, his trio formed in 2015, the German pianist, now 73, seems to have found a new playground in which the strength of his melodies proves central. Rather labelled as an avant-gardist—or even free—musician, Kühn, who has always rejected conventions throughout his extended career, is of course not sinking here into simplistic and plain music. Quite the contrary. Through rather concise themes, mostly original, aside from pieces from the Doors (The Crystal Ship), Mussorgsky (The old castle from Pictures at an exhibition) and Ornette Coleman (Night Plans), he lightens his improvisations and takes the time to play with space and even with silences. Released in 2016, Beauty & Truth, the first disc from the trio, already let you hear this somewhat uncommon Kühn. With Love & Peace, he found an inner peace which makes his music even more moving.

01. Love and Peace
02. Le Vieux Chateau
03. The Crystal Ship
04. Mustang
05. Barcelona-Wien
06. But Strokes of Folk
07. Lied Ohne Worte No. 2
08. Casbah Radio
09. Night Plans
10. New Pharoah
11. Phrasen

Joachim Kühn, piano
Chris Jennings, bass
Eric Schaefer, drums

Recorded May 15 & 16, 2017 by Gérard de Haro at Studios La Buissonne, France
Mixed by Gérard de Haro
Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann
Produced by Joachim Kühn