Jim Black Trio with Jim Black, Elias Stemeseder, Thomas Morgan – Reckon (2020) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Jim Black Trio with Jim Black, Elias Stemeseder, Thomas Morgan – Reckon (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 47:10 minutes | 951 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Intakt Records

Since the nineties, the drummer and bandleader Jim Black has been one of the most influential figures of progressive jazz. On his Intakt Records debut, Jim Black plays with the acclaimed young pianist Elias Stemeseder and highly in-demand New York bass player Thomas Morgan contemporary jazz with distinctive arrangements, complex rhythms and expressive improvisations.

Hank Shteamer writes in the linernotes: “The Constant, a suitelike collection of 10 new pieces, is a meditation on song – a celebration of plain-spoken melody but also an interrogation of the fragility of musical order. The Constant is a narrative of competing currents. On one hand, there is melody, most prominently a wistful, winding line that appears in opening track “High” and reoccurs throughout the album. As “High” begins, we hear Morgan dreamily plucking out this theme. The drummer, using brushes, adds whispering free-time textures, while the pianist makes his own way toward the motif. But there is also a gentle turbulence at work – a sense of the elusiveness and instability of song.”

01. Astrono Said So (5:42)
02. Tripped Overhue (5:22)
03. Tighter Whined (2:10)
04. Spooty and Snofer (5:19)
05. Very Query (4:27)
06. Focus On Tomorrow (2:39)
07. Next Razor World (3:43)
08. Neural Holiday (3:37)
09. Dancy Clear Ends (5:03)
10. What You Are Made From (2:57)
11. This One and This Too (6:13)

Jim Black: Drums, Composition
Elias Stemeseder: Piano
Thomas Morgan: Bass