Jerri Winter – Somebody Loves Me (1957/2014) [PrestoClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jerri Winter – Somebody Loves Me (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:02 minutes | 427 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: PrestoClassical | Front Cover | © Bethlehem Records

Smokey-voiced jazz vocalist Jerri Winter sang with Stan Kenton’s orchestra before she ventured out on her own short-lived recording career. With only three albums to her credit, her legacy leans towards quality rather than than quantity. On this 1957 session, only her second solo album, she is backed up by the Al Belletto Sextet.

Jerri Winters’ lone Bethlehem date pairs the singer with the Al Belletto Sextet, whose lively, no-frills performance proves a sympathetic match with Winters’ smoky vocals. While Winters’ stint with Stan Kenton proved her aptitude for navigating bold, progressive arrangements, Somebody Loves Me places her in a series of simple but engaging settings that showcase the full range of her talents – a wonderfully idiosyncratic but immediately accessible singer with sass and wit to spare, she puts an indelible stamp on material like “Ridin’ on the Moon,” “Dark Shadows,” and “Sometimes I’m Happy.” The Belletto band’s contributions are no less impressive, proving that straight-ahead jazz can be just as colorful and dynamic as its edgier siblings.

01 – Sometimes I’m Happy
02 – It’s Always You
03 – I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good: I Got It Bad and That Ain’t Good
04 – Somebody Loves Me
05 – Dark Shadows
06 – Ridin’ on the Moon: Ridin’ On the Moon
07 – All or Nothing At All: All or Nothing at All
08 – Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words)
09 – Crazy in the Heart
10 – There Will Never Be Another You
11 – Kind of Moody: Kind Of Moody
12 – I Can’t Believe That You’re in Love with Me

Recorded in February & March 1957 in Chicago, IL.
Remastered in 2014.

Jerri Winters – vocals
Al Belletto – alto saxophone, clarinet, vocals
Jimmy Guinn – trombone
Willis Thomas – trumpet
Fred Crane – piano
Kenny Obrien – bass
Ray Brown – bass
Louis Marino – drums
Tom Montgomery – drums