Jean-Michel Jarre – Waiting for Cousteau (1990/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Jean-Michel Jarre – Waiting for Cousteau (1990/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:08:44 minutes | 821 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Sony Music

En attendant Cousteau (English title: Waiting for Cousteau) is the tenth studio album by French electronic musician and composer Jean-Michel Jarre, released on Disques Dreyfus, licensed to Polydor, in 11 June 1990. The album was dedicated to Jacques-Yves Cousteau and was released on his 80th birthday 11 June 1990. Allmusic described the album as “groundbreaking stuff”, due to its extreme stylistic differences from his other albums.

The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau has been one of television’s most celebrated programs of all time. Jean Michel Jarre, a countryman of Jacques Cousteau’s, composed and performed an e-music opus in honor of the oceanographer. En Attendant Cousteau (aka Waiting for Cousteau) is a departure from Jarre’s usual format. This disc has three tracks that are longer than his normal tracks. (They are between six and nine minutes.) The fourth track is a major work, clocking in at 47 minutes. That track, “En Attendant Cousteau,” is an epic minimalist creation. This is groundbreaking stuff, an unusual mode for Jarre, who hasn’t gone this far out on a limb since his debut in 1976. It is a worthy risk. The atmospheric minimalism of the title track is deep and substantial. This is a great CD, certainly one of Jarre’s top three. It will appeal to fans of Robert Scott Thompson, Jeff Pearce, James Johnson, and Mychael Danna. (Interestingly, Paul Nagle created a tongue-in-cheek tribute to this album and Jarre by recording Waiting for Clouseau in the late ’90s. Nagle’s album is humorous and enjoyable.)

1. Calypso 8:23
2. Calypso Part 2 7:10
3. Calypso Part 3 (Fin De Siècle) 6:29
4. Waiting For Cousteau 22:00

Jean Michel Jarre – keyboards
The Amoco Renegades – steel drums
Guy Delacroix – bass
Christophe Deschamps – drums
Michel Geiss – keyboards
Dominique Perrier – keyboards