Jamie Saft, Steve Swallow, Bobby Previte – Loneliness Road (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jamie Saft, Steve Swallow, Bobby Previte – Loneliness Road (2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:01:39 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RareNoiseRecords

The new RareNoise release by Jamie Saft (piano/organ), Steve Swallow (electric bass) and Bobby Previte (drums), here with the participation of rock legend Iggy Pop on three tracks. That’s quite an experiment, like something Frank Zappa might have tried…

Over a career now spanning nearly thirty years, Jamie Saft has established himself as one of the visionaries of contemporary American music. As a composer, pianist and keyboard innovator, and collaborator of music icons such as Bad Brains, Beastie Boys, the B-52s, Donovan, John Adams and John Zorn, he has been fearless in his pursuit of spiritual elevation through music that both seeks to embrace the whole American canon, and also transcend it, by seamlessly assimilating genres, traditions, idioms and timelines. His collaboration with London based progressive label RareNoise, now dating back to 2012, reflects this polymath approach, as can be gleaned from listening to the array of path-breaking, irreducible recordings he released with them: among these, one of the most successful was a piano trio collaboration with jazz giants Steve Swallow and Bobby Previte, The New Standard. In Loneliness Road, the follow-up album to that acclaimed 2014 release, the trio of Saft, Swallow and Previte are joined on three tracks (“Don’t Lose Yourself”, “Loneliness Road”, “Everyday”) by singer Iggy Pop.

01 – Ten Nights
02 – Little Harbor
03 – Bookmaking
04 – Don’t Lose Yourself (feat. Iggy Pop)
05 – Henbane
06 – Pinkus
07 – Nainsook
08 – The Barrier
09 – Loneliness Road (feat. Iggy Pop)
10 – Unclouded Moon
11 – Gates
12 – Everyday (feat. Iggy Pop)