James Vincent McMorrow – We Move (2016) [7Digital FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

James Vincent McMorrow – We Move (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 44:17 minutes | 506 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: 7Digital | Front Cover | © Believe Recordings

We Move is the third studio album by Irish singer-songwriter James Vincent McMorrow. Produced in part by Nineteen85 and Frank Dukes, the album marks the musician’s transition from folk to minimalistic R&B. It was recorded in Los Angeles, Toronto and Dublin. The ideas are articulated much more distinctly than on past recordings, bringing added significance to the gorgeous compositions.

The third full-length studio outing from the Irish singer/songwriter, We Move finds James Vincent McMorrow transitioning from bucolic balladeer to minimalist R&B bard, once again tapping the engineering skills of award-winning, Toronto-based producers Nineteen85 and Frank Dukes. While not a huge sonic sea change, We Move definitely doubles down on the electronic elements that his co-producers helped usher in on 2014’s aptly named Post-Tropical. Opener and lead single “Rising Water,” a politely propulsive bit of alt-R&B-infused Scandinavian-style synth-pop, distills this newfound voltaic temperament, which invokes names like Drake, Bon Iver, and Sam Smith, into something far less icy than its sonic trappings would suggest. This holds true for the remaining nine tracks, especially on standouts like “Get Low” and “Evil.” The warmth of the beats and the tasteful melodic arrangements are perfectly suited to McMorrow’s soulful, blue-eyed delivery, and the occasional stylistic detours and offbeat turns of phrase make for welcome deviations from the formula.

01 – Rising Water
02 – I Lie Awake Every Night
03 – Last Story
04 – One Thousand Times
05 – Evil
06 – Get Low
07 – Killer Whales
08 – Seek Another
09 – Surreal
10 – Lost Angles