Isaac Hayes – Groove-A-Thon (1976/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Isaac Hayes – Groove-A-Thon (1976/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 41:40 minutes | 1,55 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Stax Records/Concord Music Group
Recorded: 1976, Hot Buttered Soul Recording Studio, Memphis, TN

The title track employs “Shaft”-like guitar licks, but the similarity ends there: It’s a lame attempt at disco done in by Ike’s lazy singing and irritatingly banal lyrics. But it’s the LP’s only sore point. Ike returns to his roots on “Your Loving Is Much Too Strong,” a slow, romantic ballad that he and his girls, Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, make you feel. “Rock Me Easy Baby,” a slinky, syncopated shuffle, has more groove appeal than the vaunted “Groove-A-Thon,” mainly because Ike constructs it for maximum soul appeal by running it for more than eight exquisite minutes. The uptempo happy-in-love ditty “We’ve Got a Whole Lot of Love” showcases HBS’ sterling voices. Ike shows a different side on the soft, longing “Wish You Were Here,” whose horn arrangements and backing vocals are simultaneously enticing and titillating. After a weak opening, the album settles into a comfortable groove, ending splendidly with “Make a Little Love to Me.”

1 Groove-A-Thon 9:48
2 Your Loving Is Much Too Strong 5:39
3 Rock Me Easy Baby 8:17
4 We’ve Got A Whole Lot Of Love 5:42
5 Wish You Were Here (You Ought To Be Here) 5:53
6 Make A Little Love To Me 6:24

Alto Saxophone – Bill Easley, Emerson Able
Backing Band [Rhythm By], Horns – Movement
Backing Vocals – Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, Isaac Hayes
Baritone Saxophone – Floyd Newman
Bass – Erroll Thomas
Congas – Jimmy Thompson
Drums, Tambourine – Willie Cole, Willie Hall
French Horn – Bryant Munch, Richard Dolph
Guitar – Michael Toles, William Vaughn
Keyboards – Isaac Hayes, Lester Snell, Sidney Kirk
Tenor Saxophone – Darnell Smith, Lewis Collins, Tommy Williams
Trombone – Jackie Thomas, Bill Flores
Trombone [Bass] – Gary Russell
Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Ben Cauley, Edgar Matthews, Johnny Davis, William Taylor
Vocals, Writter – Isaac Hayes