Irish Baroque Orchestra, Monica Huggett – Fasch, Telemann, Heinichen, Vivaldi, Graupner: Concerti Bizarri (2016) [LINN FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Fasch, Telemann, Heinichen, Vivaldi, Graupner – Concerti Bizarri – Irish Baroque Orchestra, Monica Huggett (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:13:40 minutes | 1,48 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: | Digital Booklet | © LINN Records
Recorded: September 2015, St Peter’s Church, Drogheda, Ireland

A debut Linn recording from the expert Irish Baroque Orchestra features a dazzling array of concertos for ‘bizarre’ instrumental combinations (flute d’amore, oboe d’amore and viola d’amore anyone?). The album is a showcase for the exceptional talent within the ranks of the orchestra, and casts incandescent light on extraordinary compositions by Vivaldi (of course), Telemann, Fasch, Graupner and Heinichen.

‘…virtuosic razzle-dazzle…deliciously alert, spirited, and free from affectation, its clarity is beautifully matched by the recording. No wonder Irish eyes are smiling!.’ –BBC Music Magazine
‘The music is always ear-catching and the captivating performances (and the bright recording) abound with verve and energy…’ –Early Music Review
‘The bracing immediacy of baroque oboes and bassoon feature in works by Fasch, Telemann and Heinichen as well as Graupner, and deliciously nasal cellos in a double concerto by Vivaldi.’ –The Irish Times

Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688-1758)
Concerto for flute and oboe in B minor FWV L:h1
1. Allegro[2’16]
2. Largo[1’29]
3. Allegro[2’34]

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)
Concerto for two violins and bassoon in D major Twv 53/D4
4. Andante[2’53]
5. [Allegro][4’10]
6. Adagio[2’30]
7. Allegro assai[3’13]

Johann David Heinichen (1683-1729)
Oboe Concerto in G minor S237
8. Allegro[4’31]
9. [Largo] Pizzicato[2’02]
10. Vivace[2’47]

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto for two cellos in G minor RV531
11. Allegro[3’34]
12. Largo[4’17]
13. Allegro[3’23]

Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688-1758)
Concerto for two oboes da caccia, two violas, two bassoons and continuo in G major FWV L:G11
14. Un poco allegro[2’14]
15. [Andante][1’25]
16. Allegro[2’34]
17. Menuets I & II[3’21]

Christoph Graupner (1683-1760)
Bassoon Concerto in C major GWV301
18. Vivace[3’34]
19. Largo e giusto[3’22]
20. Allegro[3’45]

Concerto for flute d’amore, oboe d’amore and viola d’amore in G major GWV333
21. [Largo][2’49]
22. Allegro[4’41]
23. [Adagio][2’03]
24. Allegro[4’13]