Ice – Import/Export (1975/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ice – Import/Export (1975/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:35 minutes | 785 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Topomic Records

The Lafayette Afro Rock Band’s music is the stuff of legend to beatheads. Though the septet disbanded in 1978, their tracks have provided countless samples for a range of artists: LL Cool J, Biz Markie, the Beatnuts, Public Enemy, Janet Jackson, Wreckx-N-Effect, Ice Cube, Jay-Z, Flying Lotus, and more. There have been several good compilations, but none as comprehensive as Afro Funk Explosion. Containing 28 cuts on two discs, it’s the first to showcase the band’s depth and startling musical development between 1973 and 1977, with whomping soulful funk, soul, jazz, disco, and African and Latin grooves. It also contains sides recorded under their aliases, Crispy & Co. and Captain Dax.

1. Hi Fi Woman (Remastered) 02:51
2. Don’t Wonder Why (Remastered) 03:16
3. Funky Lovin’ (Remastered) 03:17
4. Quick (Remastered) 03:07
5. Hey Angel Girl (Remastered) 03:53
6. The Gap (Remastered) 02:55
7. Passing Dreams (Remastered) 03:52
8. What Cha Gonna Do About Loving Me (Remastered) 03:06
9. I Need Love (Remastered) 03:05
10. Funky Bunch (Remasterd)02:50
11. Frisco (Bonus Track) (Remastered) 03:17

Lafayette Hudson, bass
Larry Jones, guitar, vocals
Ernest Donable, drums, percussion
Keno Speller, percussion, bongos
Frank Abel, piano, synthesizer, Clavinet, vocals
Arthur Grayson Young, trumpet, flute, vocals
Ronnie James, trumpet, synthesizer, bass, vocals

Digitally remastered