Ian Smith – Last Call (2019) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Ian Smith – Last Call (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 50:28 minutes | 963 MB | Genre: Pop Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Stockfisch Records

The newest horse in the stable of Stockfisch Records is already an old hand in the business: Ian Smith, an outstanding guitarist, singer and songwriter, with Scottish roots, from “Keadue Strand” in Donegal / Ireland, as sung in the song of the same name.

He has been traveling around the world in business and on the road for more than 30 years, releasing his debut with the Northeim sound specialists as a super-audio CD with the production »Last Call«.

Right in the wonderful opener of the album “When It Snows in New York City” flatter the listener Folkmusikklänge that influences of James Taylor and Joni Mitchell can not deny and hide just as their qualities.

His concise voice, coupled with the superb guitar playing (a taste in the instrumental “Guitar Doodle – 12/20”), the great recording and the arrangements with their thematically fitting instrumentation make the album with its fourteen songs something very special. The songs creep pleasantly into the ear canals and let us switch off with enjoyable listening and forget everyday life for an hour.

Whether he’s singing about South American street kids in “Pablo’s Eyes,” telling an intriguing story about the gold rush in America in “Lady Overlander,” or thinking about the world’s problems over a cup of coffee with the “Arabica Blues,” Ian Smith is a storyteller par excellence, which fits perfectly into the carefully selected musician portfolio of Stockfisch Records.

In addition to Grammy (2005) acclaimed US musician Tim O’Brien, who has contributed vocal, mandolin, and guitar sounds as Ian Smith’s personal special guest backing vocalist. a. even the great musicians Beo Brockhausen (various wind instruments), Hans-Jörg Maucksch (bass), Jens Kommnick (together with him he recorded all basic guitar tracks live in the studio) and Manfred Leuchter (accordion) are part of this production once again something unique beautiful conjured.


01. When It Snows in N.Y. City
02. Restless Heart
03. Lady Overlander
04. Last Call
05. The Come and Go
06. Missin’ Trains
07. Guitar Doodle – 12/20
08. Arabica Blues
09. Pablo’s Eyes
10. Runaway Train
11. Sittin’ on Top of the World
12. Voice on the Phone
13. Keadue Strand
14. The Smallest Step