Ian Shaw – The Theory of Joy (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ian Shaw – The Theory of Joy (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:01:39 minutes | 1,27 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Jazz Village

Ian Shaw – jazz singer, songwriter (plus stand-up comedian, radio presenter and producer!) – has returned to working with that classic jazz ensemble, the piano trio. A frequent and accomplished solo performer, for this new recording Ian craved a bit of company, and what company he found… the outstanding pianist Barry Green, distinguished bassist Mick Hutton and ace drummer Dave Ohm, three of the UK’s very finest players.

The group has been performing an exciting set of brand new arrangements at festivals and club dates in the UK and Europe, including four recent sell-out shows at London’s Ronnie Scott’s Club. These finely honed new songs were then captured for this new release, “The Theory Of Joy”. Recorded at Snap! Studios in North London in the summer of 2015, Ian was thrilled to have the world-renowned singer Claire Martin as his producer. The involvement of the visionary sound engineer Joe Leach on the project fulfilled another long-held wish.

01. Small Day Tomorrow (3:16)
02. You Fascinate Me So (4:50)
03. In France They Kiss On Main Street (3:57)
04. Where Are We Now? (5:32)
05. Everything (3:07)
06. How Do You Keep The Music Playing (5:06)
07. You’ve Got To Pick A Pocket Or Two (3:27)
08. My Brother (4:35)
09. All This And Betty Too (2:43)
10. Somewhere Towards Love (4:24)
11. The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys (5:31)
12. If You Go Away / Ne Me Quitte Pas (3:19)
13. The Shadow (4:26)
14. Born To Be Blue (2:43)
15. Last Man Alive (4:50)