Houston Symphony Orchestra & Andres Orozco-Estrada – Haydn: The Creation (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Houston Symphony Orchestra & Andrés Orozco-Estrada – Haydn: The Creation (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:39:12 minutes | 1,71 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © PentaTone

Haydn’s stupendous, joyous and uplifting oratorio Die Schöpfung (The Creation) is thrillingly brought to life in this recording with Andrés Orozco-Estrada conducting the Houston Symphony, with the Houston Symphony Chorus and the acclaimed operatic soloists Nicole Heaston, Toby Spence and Peter Rose. With its startling dramatic gestures, bold orchestral colours and sublimely beautiful word painting, Haydn’s astonishing depiction of the Genesis creation story remains his supreme masterpiece and one of the best-loved works in the entire choral repertoire. In a vivid series of tableaux, from the creation of light to Adam and Eve’s love duet, Haydn brings to life the birds, beasts and angels which all rejoice in soaring, life-affirming music.

This perfectly classical new version of The Creation by Haydn was recorded in two concerts given at the Jesse H. Jones Hall in Houston, on 27 September and 2 October 2016. Subtitled in English, these concerts also saw exhibits of cheerful drawings by the schoolchildren of Houston, who imagined whales jumping in the water beneath a starry sky. While the record doesn’t contain the pictures, it does capture the festive and awestruck atmosphere of the night with conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada.
Born in 1977, in Medellín, Colombia, this violinist and conductor went to study in Vienna at the age of 20, quickly becoming a sought-after artist. In 2009, he took charge of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, and then became the first guest conductor of the London Philharmonic, and took the post of musical director of the Houston Symphony Orchestra in Texas. Playing the game of musical chairs which is so popular these days, Orozco-Estrada will conduct the Vienna Symphony Orchestra from the 2021-2022 season, taking over from Philippe Jordan, who will himself move on to be the musical director of the opera house in the Austrian capital.
Made sublime by the excellent sound recording by the engineers at Pentatone, this recording of The Creationoffers a delicious taste of the Texan orchestra’s exquisite wind soloists, the fluidity of the string section and the excellence of the Houston Symphony Chorus, whose substantial numbers don’t in any way reduce the perfect clarity of this fervent performance, with highlights from the three soloists Nicole Heaston, Peter Rose and Toby Spencer. – François Hudry

1. No. 1, Die Vorstellung des Chaos 07:58
2. No. 2, Nun schwanden vor dem heiligen Strahle 03:54
3. No. 3, Und Gott machte das Firmament 01:59
4. No. 4, Mit Staunen sieht das Wunderwerk 01:58
5. No. 5, Und Gott sprach “Es sammle sich das Wasser” 00:32
6. No. 6, Rollend in schäumenden Wellen 03:53
7. No. 7, Und Gott sprach “Es bringe die Erde Gras hervor” 00:32
8. No. 8, Nun beut die Flur das frische Grün 05:07
9. No. 9, Und die himmlischen Heerscharen verkündigten den dritten Tag 00:12
10. No. 10, Stimmt an die Saiten 02:03
11. No. 11, Und Gott sprach, Es seien Lichter an der Feste des Himmels 00:38
12. No. 12, In vollem Glanze steiget jetzt die Sonne strahlend auf 02:53
13. No. 13, Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes 04:12
14. No. 14, Und Gott sprach, Es bringe das Wasser in der Fülle hervor 00:28
15. No. 15, Auf starkem Fittiche schwinget sich der Adler stolz 07:15
16. No. 16, Und Gott schuf große Walfische 02:23
17. No. 18, In holder Anmut stehn 04:18
18. No. 19, Der Herr ist groß in seiner Macht 02:15
19. No. 20, Und Gott sprach, Es bringe die Erde hervor lebende Geschöpfe 00:24
20. No. 21, Gleich öffnet sich der Erde Schoß 03:06
21. No. 22, Nun scheint in vollem Glanze der Himmel 03:07
22. No. 23, Und Gott schuf den Menschen 00:45
23. No. 24, Mit Würd’ und Hoheit angetan 03:33
24. No. 25, Und Gott sah jedes Ding 00:18
25. No. 26, Vollendet ist das große Werk 08:08
26. No. 29, Aus Rosenwolken bricht 04:15
27. No. 30, Von deiner Güt, o Herr und Gott 09:06
28. No. 31, Nun ist die erste Pflicht erfüllt 02:11
29. No. 32, Holde Gattin, dir zur Seite 07:55
30. No. 33, O glücklich Paar, und glücklich immerfort 00:27
31. No. 34, Singt dem Herren alle Stimmen! 03:23

Nicole Heaston, soprano
Toby Spence, tenor
Peter Rose, bass
Houston Symphony Chorus
Houston Symphony
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, conductor