Hideo Shiraki Quintet + 3 Koto Girls – Sakura Sakura (1965/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Hideo Shiraki Quintet + 3 Koto Girls – Sakura Sakura (1965/2016) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 37:49 minutes | 730 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: highresaudio.com | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

Adulated in his native Japan, drummer Hideo Shiraki led the most famous Japanese jazz group of the early 60’s. His combining jazz and traditional Japanese music brought him an invitation to the 1965 Berlin Jazz Festival and a record date. Three women playing Koto, the traditional Japanese stringed instrument, accompanied the quintet. The results: world music that works. Known in the West as ‘the Cherry Blossom Song’, the traditional Sakura Sakura finds Shiraki employing mallets, fingers, brushes, and sticks in combination with the Kyoto players as jazz and tradition blend. Yosakoi Bushi means ‘better come at night to make love’. There’s a feel of bluesy early Coltrane in the relaxed swing and soprano solo. Yamanaka Bushi is a song from the Yamanaka Onsen, or hot springs. The quintet bathes in the song’s heat, as a young Terumasa Hino displays why he’s a world-renowned trumpeter. Matsuri No Genzo conjures the images of a rural temple feast. After a haunting Koto refrain, everyone has a taste, and Shiraki’s play makes sure there are no leftovers. Hino takes the melody and solos exquisitely on his ballad Alone, Alone And Alone. Suwa is another Hino piece. The Koto takes on an almost Avant-garde role here, with an electronic-sounding accompaniment to the muted trumpet melody. An amazing coalescence of the serene traditional music of Japan and the youthful vitality of jazz.

01 – Sakura, Sakura
02 – Yosakoi-Bushi
03 – Yamanaka Bushi
04 – Matsuri No Genzo
05 – Alone, Alone And Alone
06 – Suwa

Produced by Joachim E. Berendt. Engineered by Guenther Topel.
Recorded on November 1, 1965 in Berlin, Germany.
Digitally Remastered.

Keiko Nosaka – Koto
Kinuko Shurane – Koto
Sachiko Miyamoto – Koto Bass
Yuzuru Sera – piano
Takeru Muraoka – tenor saxophone, flute
Terumasa Hino – trumpet
Hachiro Kurita – bass
Hideo Shiraki – drums