Hailey Tuck – Junk (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1Hz]

Hailey Tuck – Junk (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 43:18 minutes | 479 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Silvertone

She loves Madeleine Peyroux and Melody Gardot and she doesn’t care who knows it. But Hailey Tuck does have a little something of her own up her sleeve. It’s a personal touch that makes this young Texan, who has made landfall in Paris, an attractive voice in its own right, and not a pale imitation of anyone else. Larry Klein, who produced her two idols, even agreed to put together the first album of this starlet who shares a hairdresser with Louise Brooks, and a wardrobe with Josephine Baker. Klein even put together a perfect and never over-produced backdrop, with the help of some five-star studio musicians like drummer Jay Bellerose (Elton John, Robert Plant) and guitarist Dean Parks (Joe Cocker, Steely Dan)… In terms of their repertoire, the eclecticism and quality of these covers also displays thoroughgoing good taste. And the fact that she revisits That Don’t Make It Junk by Leonard Cohen, Cry To Me, made famous Solomon Burke, Cactus Tree by Joni Mitchell, Some Other Time by Leonard Bernstein, Underwear by Pulp, Alcohol by the Kinks, Junk by Paul McCartney, I Don’t Care Much from the soundtrack to Cabaret and indeed the wonderful Say You Don’t Mind by Colin Blunstone, Hailey Tuck deploys her voice intelligently and with a dash of retro in every word and every phrase. Let this beautiful and timeless Qobuzissime carry you away…  –  Max Dembo

01. That Don’t Make It Junk 03:29
02. Cry to Me 02:42
03. Cactus Tree 04:32
04. Some Other Time 04:18
05. Say You Don’t Mind 03:13
06. Alcohol 02:38
07. Last In Line 04:22
08. My Chemical Life 04:19
09. I Don’t Care Much 03:11
10. Trouble In Mind 03:12
11. Underwear 04:11
12. Junk 02:59