Gustav Mahler – Das Lied von der Erde – Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, Marc Albrecht (2013) [nativeDSDmusic DSF DSD64/2.82MHz]

Gustav Mahler – Das Lied von der Erde – Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, Marc Albrecht (2013)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 01:03:01 minutes | 2,48 GB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: nativeDSDmusic | Front Cover | © Pentatone Music B.V.
Recorded: Beurs van Berlage, Yakult zaal, Amsterdam, June 21,22 – 2012

Das Lied is considered the most personal of Mahler’s works. It represents a synthesis of the two great pillars in Mahler’s oeuvre, the symphony and the song. On the face of it, it is cycle of six orchestral songs. But at the same time, it features three protagonists: not just the two solo voices, but the orchestra as well, and its formal structure is symphonic in nature.

The two soloists on this recording are the best known for this work. They sing it all over the world with top orchestras to fabulous reviews and PentaTone is delighted to welcome them to their label. The Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra has a splendid reputation for its Mahler performances mainly under previous Music Director Harmut Haenchen.

Marc Albrecht’s PentaTone release of Gustav Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde is among the finest modern recordings of this work, both for the depth of the interpretation and for the exceptional audiophile sound quality. This is Albrecht’s first recording of a Mahler work, and though he is known as a specialist in the operas of Richard Strauss, this clearly works to his advantage in Das Lied, which lies stylistically between a symphony, a song cycle, and an opera. The wonderfully seraphic Alice Coote and the intensely ardent Burkhard Fritz are highly dramatic in their delivery, and the vocal parts give the performance a theatrical air, especially because of the spacious acoustics around the voices make them seem almost operatic in the multichannel recording. The playing of the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra is marvelously shaded and vivid, providing a subtle accompaniment that reinforces Mahler’s ever-changing expressions and giving Das Lied a richly burnished tone. The only problem with this recording is a trace of what seems like humming in Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde, which unfortunately was picked up in the highly sensitive DSD recording. Other than that flaw, this is an exceptional presentation that Mahler fans should eagerly seek out. ~~AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson


Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Das Lied von der Erde (Song of the Earth)
1 I. Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde (The Drinking Song of Earth’s Misery) 8:02
2 II. Der Einsame im Herbst (The Lonely One in Autumn) 9:41
3 III. Von der Jugend (Of Youth) 3:01
4 IV. Von der Schonheit (Of Beauty) 7:40
5 V. Der Trunkene im Fruhling (The Drunkard in Spring) 4:29
6 VI. Der Abschied (The Farewell) 29:50

Alice Coote, mezzo
Burkhard Fritz, tenor
Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra
Marc Albrecht, conductor