Guido Balestracci, Les Basses Reunies & Bruno Cocset – Captain Tobias Hume: “Harke, Harke!” Lyra Violls Humors & Delights (2014) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Guido Balestracci, Les Basses Réunies & Bruno Cocset – Captain Tobias Hume: “Harke, Harke!” Lyra Violls Humors & Delights (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:10:19 minutes | 1,2 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

With this new recording, Bruno Cocset’s Les Basses Réunies propose a journey back to 17th-century England, centring on the work of Tobias Hume, an emblematic musician of the viola da gamba and, more precisely, the lyra violl. This exploration in terms of music as much as of sound, presents three instruments that have just come from the hands of instrument-maker Charles Riché (seconded by Friederike Dangel). A distinguished guest, the talented Italian gambist Guido Balestracci, plays a selection of solo pieces by the famous soldier composer. The Lyra violl is also accompanist for pieces composed for a dessus and Lyra violl, in which case Bruno Cocset plays his little ‘bastarda alto’ viol. The continuo, subtle and lush, brings together Bertrand Cuiller on the two harpsichords (one strung with brass wire, the other with gut strings), and Richard Myron on the large bass in G.

Tobias Hume (c.1579-1645)
01. The Lady of Sussex Delight
02. An Almaine “The Lady Canes Delight”
03. A Humorous Pavin
04. Captaine Humes Galliard
05. A Jigge
06. Good Againe
07. The Pashion of Musicke “Sir Christopher Hattons Choice”
08. A Soldiers Resolution
09. A Soldiers Galiard
10. What Greater Griefe
11. Touch Me Sweetely
12. Touch Me Lightly
13. Tickle Me Quickly
14. Tickell, Tickell
15. The Earle of Pembrooke His Galliard
16. Alas Poore Men
17. Sweet Ayre “The Earle of Arundels Favoret”
18. Musicke and Mirth “The Lady Hattons Delight”
19. A Careles Humor
20. Harke, Harke
21. The Spirit of Gambo “The Lord Dewys Favoret”
22. My Mistress Fath a Pritty Thing
23. Loves Farewell
24. Fain Would I Change That Note
25. This Sport Is Ended

Guido Balestracci, viola da gamba
Les Basses Réunies
Bruno Cocset, cello, conductor