Goldie Hill Smith – Goldie Sings Again (1968/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Goldie Hill Smith – Goldie Sings Again (1968/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 26:30 minutes | 625 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Epic – Legacy

Goldie soaked up the popular country music of the era and developed a talent for singing. Early on, Goldie’s older brothers Tommy and Ken left a life of cotton picking determined to make a name for themselves in country music. Within a few years, they were backing up Hank Williams, Johnny Horton, and Webb Pierce. Sister Goldie officially got her start on the Louisiana Hayride in 1953 as part of Tommy’s band. Billed as “the Golden Hillbilly,” she scored a number one hit in 1953 with her second single, “I Let the Stars Get in My Eyes,” originally written by Tommy for Kitty Wells. Among her other charting tunes were several duets with either Ernest Tubb’s son Justin Tubb or Red Sovine, including the big hit “Yankee Go Home.” In 1957 she married country singer Carl Smith following his divorce from June Carter. In the late ’60s she made a short-lived comeback as Goldie Hill Smith, without much fanfare. Following Carl Smith’s retirement from music in the late ’70s, he and Goldie lived on their horse farm outside of Franklin, TN, and the two began to show horses professionally during the course of the decade.

01. There’s Gotta Be More to Life (Than Loving a Man)
02. Don’t Worry
03. Bye, Bye Love
04. They Took the Stars Out of Heaven
05. I Wouldn’t Buy a Used Car from Him
06. If My Heart Had Windows
07. Amost Enough
08. Blue, Blue Day
09. I Hung My Head and Cried
10. Why, Why, Why
11. I Forgot More Than You’ll Ever Know