Giovanni Mirabassi – Adelante! (2011) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Giovanni Mirabassi – ¡Adelante! (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:04:25 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front cover | © Discograph

Is Giovanni Mirabassi’s performance music, or an expression of revolt ? Simply both. And of course, the pianist renders these tunes with all his sensitivity and his brilliant technique. He obviously believes that the music speaks for itself. In this album, Giovanni Mirabassi performs as a soloist but three special guests join him in his Cuban recording sessions on the tune Yo me quedo, all members of the historical Ikarere (a Cuban group founded by Chucho Valdés), and singer Angela Elvira Pérez, on the tune Hasta Siempre, in a more destructured version than the one we are used to hearing. Most tunes naturally sound very familiar to us : The Partisan, immortalized by Leonard Cohen,… Lili Marleen, or the very famous Gracias a la vida. Some of the tunes are even closer to a French audience : Le déserteur, by Boris Vian, Libertango, by Piazzolla… Graine d’ananar by Léo Ferré, Le temps du muguet, composed by Francis Lemarque.

Recorded on May 1st in Havana… ¡Adelante! offers a libertarian echo to Avanti ! (2000). Quite conscious of the jolts of History, the pianist has nevertheless decided to travel to Cuba to record seventeen themes perfectly connoting the revolutionary movements through centuries (the album starts with The Internationale).

b. 1970, Perugia, Italy. A self-taught pianist, Mirabassi became known in Italian jazz circles in the 80s and occasionally played with visitors such as Chet Baker and Steve Grossman. In the early 90s, he settled in Paris. In 1996 he was named best soloist at the Lauréat international competition held at Avignon. From his Paris base, he continued to play with many musicians, local and visiting, among them being trumpeter Flavio Boltro, trombonist Glenn Ferris, saxophonists Stefano Di Battista and Michel Portal, accordionist Andrzej Jagodzinski, guitarist Nelson Veras, bass players Pierre-Stéphane Michel, Gildas Boclé and Gianluca Renzi, drummers Louis Moutin, Leon Parker and Aldo Romano, and his brother Gabriele Mirabassi. Highly regarded among his recordings as leader are Avanti!, which won the 2002 Victoires Du Jazz award, and (((Air))), which won the 2003 award as Best Album Of The Year from the Django Reinhardt Academy of Jazz. Mirabassi appears internationally and has performed throughout Europe as well as in the USA and Japan. Venues at which he has appeared include Paris Jazz Festival, JVC Jazz Festival and North Sea Jazz Festival.

01 – L’Internationale
02 – Hasta Siempre
03 – The Partisan
04 – A Luta Continua
05 – Le Déserteur
06 – La Estaca
07 – Lili Marleen
08 – La Carta
09 – Gallo Rojo Gallo Negro
10 – Assentamento
11 – Libertango
12 – Yo Me Quedo
13 – Graine d’Ananar
14 – Le Temps du Muguet
15 – Uno de Abajo
16 – Le Chant de Canuts
17 – Gracias a la Vida