Giovanni Antonini & Il Giardino Armonico – Telemann (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Giovanni Antonini & Il Giardino Armonico – Telemann (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:14:18 minutes | 1,4 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

The year 2017 will mark the 250th anniversary of the death of Georg Philipp Telemann, one of the most prolific composers of the Baroque era. Giovanni Antonini and Il Giardino Armonico have taken this opportunity to pay tribute to his eclecticism in a programme juxtaposing works that move constantly between French and Italian stylistic traditions. On this disc, Giovanni Antonini not only directs the ensemble, but also returns to the recorder, his own instrument of choice (as it was the composer’s), and performs the Suite in A minor, the Concerto in C major and the Concerto da camera in G minor. We will also discover a curiosity, a sonata for chalumeaux.

This instrument of folk origins is comparable to the clarinet, and Telemann was the first composer to show an interest in it. Like volume 3 of the Haydn2032 Edition, this programme will be released on HighResAudio, thus asserting the common desire of the Alpha label and the Milanese ensemble to make these new recordings available to lovers of vinyl, who are more and more numerous.


Jacques-Martin Hotteterre (1674-1763)
1 Prélude pour la flûte à bec, modulé simplement, “Tendrement sans lenteur” 00:52

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)
Suite in A Minor for Recorder, Strings & Continuo, TWV 55:A2
2 I. Ouverture 06:16
3 II. Les plaisirs 03:11
4 III. Air à l’italien (Largo, allegro, largo) 06:33
5 IV. Menuet I & II (Alternativement) 03:25
6 V. Réjouissance (Vite) 02:19
7 VI. Passepieds I & II 01:41
8 VII. Polonoise 03:23
Concerto in C Major for Recorder, Strings & Continuo, TWV 51:C1
9 I. Allegretto 02:47
10 II. Allegro 03:23
11 III. Andante 03:50
12 IV. Tempo di menuet 05:35
Sonata in F Major for Two Chalumeaux, Violin & Continuo, TWV 43:F2
13 I. (Largo) 01:17
14 II. Allegro 04:53
15 III. Grave 03:54
16 IV. Vivace 02:54
Concerto di camera in G Minor for Recorder, Two Violins & Continuo, TWV 43:G3
17 I. (Allegro) 05:00
18 II. Siciliana 07:14
19 III. Bourrée 01:35
20 IV. Menuet e Trio 04:07

Giovanni Antonini, recorder, direction
Il Giardino Armonico