Gerald Albright – G (2016/2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Gerald Albright – G (2016/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:52 minutes | 629 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Bright Music Records

The iconic saxman who many of us have now come to affectionately know as simply “G,” Gerald Albright, explodes on the scene again with another example of his seemingly infinite musicality with a new release simply called G, his first on his new independent label. An album that, along with good modern day funk and jazz, also tosses in that old school flavor that hearkens back to his deep jazz & R&B roots with breathing, soulful, swelling sax solos. It’s also another demonstration of his superior bass skills (so superior that I would comfortably place him among the best).

Joined here by the renowned producer/musician Chris “Big Dog” Davis, vocalist Michael McDonald, and yes, rapper Doug E. Fresh, the album comes packed with pleasant surprises, innovative covers, and that bright “G” sound and style.

From the rousing lead track “Taking Control” (which he does throughout the album — to no one’s surprise) to a brilliant and exciting cover of Avant’s “Read Your Mind” to the strutting and sassy, mid-tempo “Boom Boom” to a wonderful, funky take on Bill Withers’ “Lovely Day” with the smooth and soulful Michael McDonald on vocals, this album will get you there in high style.

Speaking of funk, I would be remiss if I didn’t single out “Funkism” which is a dead-on definition of that groove – upbeat with lots of inherent soul and “bottom.”

Settling into a romantic haze is the tender “I Miss You,” also intended to get you where you need to be on that cozy evening before the fire with the object of your affections.

Of course, you just know I have to comment on the Doug E. Fresh contribution, found on, appropriately, “G and Doug E.,” a rap & funk-filled salute to that era when Mr. Fresh was among those who reigned supreme in that rap genre. Oh, it’s fresh – and reminiscent. You will bob your head, tap your feet, and yes, get up and get that dance groove going.

Now, if you buy this one, anxious to hear G’s bass handling, brace yourself for some solid, phat, and slick riffs on the instrument, especially on “We Came to Play (La Calle),” reaching you from the floor up.

This one has all of that Gerald Albright color and character. As for how he feels about this project, the G-man explains, “When I tell you that I’m truly excited about this CD, it’s deemed an understatement. This project is extremely meaningful on so many levels. I’m ‘stepping out on faith.’ I’m a believer that the best efforts happen when you take control of your life and career. I pray that the listener is deeply moved by the music on this project.” I am sure your prayers will be answered, my friend, and, in fact, have been by those who’ve already experienced this gem.” (Ronald Jackson)


01. Taking Control
02. Read Your Mind
03. Boom Boom
04. Lovely Day
05. Frankie B.
06. Funkism
07. I Miss You
08. G and Doug E.
09. We Came to Play (La Calle)
10. Closure
11. We Came to Play (La Calle) (Remix (Bonus Track))