Fred Frith Trio – Closer to the Ground (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fred Frith Trio – Closer to the Ground (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:56 minutes | 545 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Intakt Records

With their second album the Fred Frith Trio with Jason Hoopes (Bass) and Jordan Glenn (Drums) continues to explore the dimension of the guitar trio. “Closer to the Ground” is all about sound, mood, texture, ideas, and atmosphere. Playful, intimate, and bound together, the Fred Frith Trio reminds us of what listening is all about.

With a lifetime of experience across almost every field of musical endeavor, Frith stretches out in the company of two stalwarts of the vibrant Bay Area music scene who each have their own stories to tell. As this is also Frith’s touring band, many of these themes were already road tested so even at their most in-the-moment creative, this trio remains dense and tight. “Three extravagantly creative musicians employed in making music like we’ve never heard before,” writes Canadian critic Raul da Gama.

1. Bones to Pick with Graveyards 05:16
2. Alle planmäßigen Ziele werden erreicht 05:06
3. In the Grip of It 04:56
4. Ruhebereich 06:23
5. Stars like Trees 05:55
6. A Path Made by Walking 06:49
7. Betting on the World 02:39
8. Love and Other Embers 07:34
9. Up in Smoke 06:18

Fred Frith, electric guitar, organ
Jason Hoopes, electric bass, double bass
Jordan Glenn, drums, percussion

Recorded January 13 – 15, 2018, at Sharkbite Studios, Oakland by Scott Evans
Mixed at Guerrilla Recording in February 2018
Mastered at Headless Buddha, Oakland, March 8, 2018, by Myles Boisen Produced by Fred Frith