Franz Schubert – Complete Symphonies – Les Musiciens du Louvre – Grenoble, Marc Minkowski (2012) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Franz Schubert – Complete Symphonies – Les Musiciens du Louvre – Grenoble, Marc Minkowski (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 04:07:19 minutes | 2,46 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front Cover | @ Naïve
Recorded: March, 2012, Live at the Wiener Konzerthaus

Admirers of Franz Schubert and fans of authentic period performances should seriously consider listening to Marc Minkowski’s live set of the complete symphonies with Les Musiciens du Louvre Grenoble, if only for the life enhancing experience. Sure, there’s probably no one better at re-creating the real sounds of an early 19th century orchestra, and there are undoubtedly few conductors who can present these masterpieces with greater clarity and vitality. But these characteristics are expected of the best period ensembles, and Minkowski and his musicians have met such expectations time and time again. Beyond this, there is a special intelligence and emotional depth that not only explicate Schubert’s counterpoint and communicate his emotional expressions, but make the music a fully organic and satisfying experience. Following the orchestra can be overwhelming because the separation of the parts is so clear and distinctive, myriad details in the counterpoint come across almost at once, and the brilliance and complexity of Schubert’s mind is immediately apparent. This is why listeners need to hear the whole set in its entirety, from the Classical early symphonies, through the utterly perfect Fifth, to the towering achievements of the “Unfinished” and the “Great C major.” But take ample time to absorb it, if only to savor every wonderful aspect of the performances. This is beyond doubt one of the definitive Schubert cycles, and it is absolutely recommended for anyone who loves this composer’s music. — Review by Blair Sanderson

Symphonie No. 3 in D major, D 200
1 Adagio maestoso – Allegro con brio 9:06
2 Allegretto 4:30
3 Menuetto. Vivace 3:34
4 Presto vivace 6:22
Symphonie No. 1 in D major, D 82
5 Adagio – Allegro vivace 8:25
6 Andante 7:56
7 Menuetto: Allegro 4:17
8 Allegro vivace 5:59
Symphonie No. 2 in B flat major, D 125
9 Largo – Allegro vivace 10:10
10 Andante 7:32
11 Menuetto: Allegro vivace 2:48
12 Presto vivace 5:30
Symphonie No. 5 in B flat major, D 485
13 Allegro 7:13
14 Andante con moto 9:49
15 Menuetto: Allegro molto 5:03
16 Allegro vivace 7:05
Symphonie No. 4 in C minor ‘Tragic’, D 417
17 Adagio molto – Allegro vivace 9:40
18 Andante 9:19
19 Menuetto: Allegretto vivace 3:11
20 Allegro 7:24
Symphonie No. 7 (8) in B minor ‘Unfinished’, D 759
21 Allegro moderato en si mineur 15:09
22 Andante con moto en mi majeur 11:34
Symphonie No. 6 in C major ‘Little C major’, D 589
23 Adagio – Allegro 9:08
24 Andante 5:29
25 Scherzo: Presto 6:07
26 Allegro moderato 10:00
Symphonie No. 8 (9) in C major ‘Great C major’, D 944
27 Andante – Allegro ma non troppo 16:49
28 Andante con moto 14:31
29 Scherzo: Allegro vivace 11:54
30 Finale: Allegro vivace 11:29

Les Musiciens du Louvre – Grenoble
Marc Minkowski, conductor