Franz Liszt: Piano Sonata & other works – Angela Hewitt (2015) [hyperion-records FLAC 24bit/44.1kHz]

Franz Liszt – Piano Sonata & other works – Angela Hewitt (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 74:31 minutes | 579 MB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: hyperion-records | © Hyperion Records
Recorded: May 2014 at Jesus-Christus-Kirche, Berlin, Germany

Angela Hewitt’s notes for this important new album describe a teenager’s moment of revelation when she first came to appreciate the epic masterpiece that is the Liszt Piano Sonata. Here we have a heart-felt recording where this palpable sense of wonder is manifest alongside Hewitt’s enthralling technical facility at the keyboard.
The programme is completed by the second half of Liszt’s dazzling second Année de pèlerinage collection: the three Petrarch Sonnets and the noble Dante Sonata, the latter composed as a fund-raiser for the Bonn Beethoven monument in 1839.

The British-Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt has a refreshing attitude to Liszt. On first hearing, the monumental Piano Sonata in B minor as a teenager she thought “what an awful piece”, a mere vehicle for piano bashing. Why would anyone play it? Then a better pianist—her own teacher, Jean-Paul Sévilla—showed her the work’s miracles. At once she set about learning it herself. With Liszt, out of the wild forest of notes, the pianist must find line, delicacy, lyricism, sinew and nobility. Many players have collapsed under the weight of fiendish technical challenges so that the music sounds relentless, even grotesque. Liszt found big ideas irresistible. That other marathon, the Dante Sonata, compresses The Divine Comedy into a single movement, from the grumbling horrors of Hell to the benediction of Paradise. The harmonies, full of tritones, are wild and remote. Virtuosity is only the start. Here, in the B minor sonata and in the three youthful Petrarch Sonnets, Hewitt is magisterial. For many years Bach has been her calling card. Her Liszt is, if anything, yet more compelling. –The Guardian

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Piano Sonata in B minor S178
1 Lento assai [13’20]
2 Andante sostenuto [7’52]
3 Allegro energico [1’55]
4 Allegro energico – Più mosso [6’16]
5 Andante sostenuto [4’56]
6 Sonetto 47 del Petrarca
(No 4 of Années de pèlerinage, deuxième année – Italie, S161) [6’24]
7 Sonetto 104 del Petrarca
(No 5 of Années de pèlerinage, deuxième année – Italie, S161) [7’35]
8 Sonetto 123 del Petrarca
(No 6 of Années de pèlerinage, deuxième année – Italie, S161) [7’58]
9 Après une lecture du Dante ‘Fantasia quasi Sonata’
(No 7 of Années de pèlerinage, deuxième année – Italie, S161) [18’15]

Angela Hewitt, piano