Francoise Hardy – Ma Jeunesse Fout Le Camp (1967/2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Francoise Hardy – Ma Jeunesse Fout Le Camp (1967/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 31:20 minutes | 671 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Parlophone France

“Ma jeunesse fout le camp…” is a studio album by the French popular singer Françoise Hardy. Released in France in November 1967. The title is very idiomatic, but it in English its general meaning is “My youth is slipping away”. This album was the first produced by Hardy’s own production company, Asparagus Productions.

Hardy moved toward a more adult, sedate form of orchestrated pop balladry on this 1967 album. Nothing wrong with that per se; what makes it less exciting than her previous work, though, was that in general the material lacked the bounce and melodic strength of her best recordings. “Il N’y a Pas D’Amour Heureux” (“There is No Happy Love”) she sings in one of the tracks, and that sets the mournful tone for much of the tunes (half of which were written by herself), which often deal with sentimental themes of sad farewells. Still, it’s delivered with classy grace and ornate period production, and the uplifting “Voila” (easily the best cut here) is one of her top classics. John Paul Jones (presumably the future Led Zeppelin bassist) was one of the arrangers.

01 – Ma jeunesse fout le camp
02 – Viens là
03 – Mon amour adieu
04 – La fin de l’été
05 – En vous aimant bien
06 – Qui peut dire
07 – Des ronds dans l’eau
08 – Il n’y a pas d’amour heureux
09 – Il est trop loin
10 – Mais il y a des soirs
11 – Voilà
12 – C’était charmant

Digtally Remastered in 2016.