Francois Chaplin – Schubert: Impromptus D 899 & D 935 (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Francois Chaplin – Schubert: Impromptus D 899 & D 935 (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:12:32 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Aparté Music
Recorded: 23 au 26 juin 2014 à l’église Saint-Pierre, Paris

“The way into Schubert’s world is full of twists and turns… A lengthy progress towards what I’ve always thought to be the ultimate expression of the lightness of being … For me, playing Schubert is the culmination of a voyage of self-discovery … You’re plunged into the same self-doubt, experience the same joy he did. I can find my self in this intimate exchange.
Each one of his eight Impromptus is, in its own way, a microcosm of the Schubertian world, an echo of the Vienna that was so dear to him. For me, they are an inner-journey that consumes every waking hour, strips my soul bare and fuses all those hopes and uncertainties into one. I lose myself in them and can see myself more clearly as a result.
To me, that’s the very essence of the impromptus: an act of abandonment that calls life itself into question and gives proof to the brilliance of Schubert’s genius in all its intricate and astonishing complexity.” –François Chaplin

» … […] Jeu lumineux, bien articulé, tempéré dans les contrastes et agréable dans sa sonorité. […] L’éloquence équilibrée de François Chaplin laisse simplement s’exprimer le lyrisme de ces poèmes musicaux […] Cette lecture au charme discret suffit à nous tenir en haleine. En complément, François Chaplin propose la transcription par Liszt du lied Litanei, si chère à Alfred Cortot, dont il fait impeccablement ressortir la tendre gravité. « Jérôme Bastianelli, Diapason

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
4 Impromptus, D. 899 (Op. 90)
1. No. 1 in C minor: Allegro moderato 10’06
2. No. 2 in E flat: Allegro 5’06
3. No. 3 in G flat: Andante 6’13
4. No. 4 in A flat: Allegretto 7’38
4 Impromptus, D. 935 (Op. posth.142)
5. No. 1 in F minor: Allegro moderato 12’35
6. No. 2 in A flat: Allegretto 8’19
7. No. 3 in B flat: Theme (Andante) & variations 12’04
8. No. 4 in F minor: Allegro Scherzando 6’58
Franz Schubert (arr. Franz Liszt)
9. Litanei, S. 562 No. 1 / D. 343 3’33

François Chaplin, piano