Foreigner – Inside Information (1987/2013) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Foreigner – Inside Information (1987/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 44:45 minutes | 1,57 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Chart History/Awards
– Peaked at #15 on the 1987 Billboard 200
– The single “Say You Will” peaked at #1 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and #6 on the Billboard Hot 100 – “I Don’t Want to Live Without You” peaked at #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart and at #5 on the Billboard Hot 100

Foreigner’s sixth studio album, Inside Information is a record that is still full of vibrant hooks, while shifting from their earlier guitar-heavy stile to one that featured electronics more prominently.  The album has several stand-out tracks, including “Heart Turns to Stone”, “Say You Will”, “Face to Face”, and “I Don’t Want to Live Without You.”

Foreigner was arguably the finest band of AOR’s late-’70s and early-’80s heyday. Unfortunately, after a decade of monstrous success and raking in truckloads of cash for themselves and Atlantic Records, 1987’s Inside Information showed that the songwriting gas tank of guitarist/keyboardist Mick Jones and vocalist Lou Gramm was running low. Impeccable studio craftsmanship can’t compensate for the lack of quality songs. There are a few solid tracks, but the album only sold a million copies – paltry when compared to previous releases – and it currently ranks as Foreigner’s last major commercial success. The proceedings start promisingly enough with “Heart Turns to Stone,” an energetic rock number that became a minor hit. “Say You Will” was Foreigner’s last great Top Ten single. It’s loaded with killer vocal and keyboard hooks. The bloodless, pleasantly tepid ballad “I Don’t Want to Live Without You” actually made the Top Five; it has neither the passion of “Waiting for a Girl Like You” nor the soul of “I Want to Know What Love Is.” “Inside Information” experiments a little with odd rhythms. “The Beat of My Heart” is notable only for the Spanish guitar intro by guest Hugh McCracken. The gritty “Face to Face” is an excellent album track. “Out of the Blue” is the only song written by the entire band – Jones, Gramm, bassist Rick Wills, and drummer Dennis Elliott – and that does give it a slightly more organic feel. ~ Bret Adams

01. Heart Turns To Stone (04:34)
02. Can’t Wait (04:31)
03. Say You Will (04:15)
04. I Don’t Want To Live Without You (04:56)
05. Counting Every Minute (04:12)
06. Inside Information (04:12)
07. The Beat Of My Heart (05:13)
08. Face To Face (03:56)
09. Out Of The Blue (04:44)
10. A Night To Remember (04:09)