Evan Parker Electro-Acoustic Ensemble – The Moment’s Energy (2009/2016) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Evan Parker Electro-Acoustic Ensemble – The Moment’s Energy (2009/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 1:07:04 minutes | 730 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Digital Booklet | © ECM

The fifth ECM disc from Parker’s Electro-Acoustic Ensemble whose pioneering work has effectively established a model for a new kind of improvising chamber orchestra, creating fresh colours from the blending and contrasting of acoustic instruments and live electronics. The latest edition of the group adds some new members – two Americans, Ned Rothenberg and Peter Evans, both well-known to followers of improvised music, and a Japanese musician, Ko Ishikawa – and expands the horizons still further. With more acoustic instruments in the mix, the group now embraces both the ancient and the modern: Ko, for instance, plays exclusively the sho, the archaic bamboo mouth organ, which sounds thoroughly futuristic when processed by the Ensemble’s sonic scientists. Similarly, the borders between improvisation and composition are dissolved in this music: The Moment’s Energy features an extended new work commissioned by the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

01 – I (The Moment’s Energy)
02 – II (The Moment’s Energy)
03 – III (The Moment’s Energy)
04 – IV (The Moment’s Energy)
05 – V (The Moment’s Energy)
06 – VI (The Moment’s Energy)
07 – VII (The Moment’s Energy)
08 – Incandescent Clouds

Produced by Steve Lake. Engineered by Steve Lowe.
Recorded November 2007 at Lawrence Batley Theatre, Huddersfield.
Mixed in February 2008 at New Gateway Studios, London by Steve Lowe, Steve Lake and Evan Parker.