Eugen Cicero – Swinging Tschaikowsky (1966/2015) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Eugen Cicero – Swinging Tschaikowsky (1966/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 37:32 minutes | 676 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source:  | Front Cover | © MPS Classical

The early work of Austrian pianist Eugene Cicero must have been incredibly successful for the MPS/Saba label – as they cut more than a few albums that had him in this format, playing jazzy changes based on classical material by a specific composer!

This set, like the others, features Cicero in the company of bassist Peter Witte and drummer Charlie Antolini, whose funky sound would show up on later MPS sessions under his own name – but who here is matching Eugene’s own virtuosic energy throughout the set – controlling the strength of his rhythms one minute, then driving them hard the next! The album has a nice lively lyrical groove, and Cicero’s approach to the piano is fairly compelling, with more soul than you’d expect from his highly technical approach. Titles include ‘Ouverture Minature’, ‘Andante & Thema’, and ‘Introduktion’.

01 – Introduktion aus “Der Schwanensee”, 1. Akt, Op. 20
02 – Piu mosso aus “Der Schwanensee”, 2. Akt, Op. 20
03 – Andante und Thema aus “Der Schwanensee”, 2. Akt, Op. 20
04 – Ouverture Miniature aus der “Nußknacker-Suite”, Op. 71a
05 – Altfranzösisches Lied
06 – Neapolitanisches Tanzlied

Produced by Willi Fruth. Engineered by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer.
Recorded on June 16-17, 1966 at MPS-Studio, Villingen, Germany.
Digitally Remastered in 2014.

Eugen Cicero – piano
Peter Witte – bass
Charly Antolini – drums