Enemy – Enemy (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Enemy – Enemy (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:04 minutes | 496 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

Right hook, left jab, uppercut! The first album from Enemy makes a radical entrance. Behind the name is the young trio of; pianist Kit Downes, bassist Frans Petter Eldh ​and drummer James Maddren. Three young faces of the international jazz scene who have already made a name for themselves in solo careers or alongside other pathbreakers. They have joined forces in order to give free rein to their creative impulses and their hunger for freedom. Produced by Eldh himself, this album is very physical: a tidal wave of contemporary jazz. It’s a polyrhythmic storm which will delight fans of power trios in the style of the Bad Plus.

With a bubbling brew of influences running from Keith Jarrett to Oscar Peterson, Kit Downs sketches out some mind blowing multicoloured improvisations. But the strength of the Brit’s piano clearly lies in the way it sticks so closely to the rhythms of Eldh and Maddren, who are the core of this jazz reactor. But Enemy isn’t just a byword for power and racing rhythms. When the trio take on ballads, they also unleash a captivating narrative force. Enemy: much friendlier than they look…  – Marc Zisman

1. Prospect of K 04:19
2. Race the Sun 03:19
3. Fogo 04:29
4. Brandy 03:50
5. Low Hanging Fruit 01:42
6. Jinn 03:40
7. Children with Torches 04:48
8. Ruster 03:26
9. Politix 08:46
10. Faster than Light 05:45

Frans Petter Eldh, double bass
Kit Downes, piano
James Maddren, drums

Recorded on 17th and 18th October 2016 by George Murphy at Eastcote Studios, London Mixed by Frans Petter Eldh at Galatea Studios, Berlin in November 2017 Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann in December 2017