Emoke Barath – Voglio cantar (2019) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Emoke Baräth – Voglio cantar (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:19:53 minutes | 1,42 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Erato

Around 1630, a young woman of 13 named Barbara Valle was presented to Francesco Cavalli, who was already very famous not only as a composer but also as a teacher. Later, Valle would become known as Barbara Strozzi, after the name of her protector (and most likely her biological father) – and she displayed very promising talents. In fact, shortly after this meeting, Barbara made a dramatic entrance into the exclusively male world of the famous Accademi degli Unisoni, founded in Venice by one of the greatest intellectuals of the era and the city. Between 1644 and 1664, she would publish no fewer than eight collections of madrigals which, while they never made her rich, would bring her posthumous fame… Soprano Emöke Baráth has chosen a selection of pieces by Barbara Strozzi and Francesco Cavalli, laced with a few contemporary works not necessarily from Venice. This allows us to compare what was happening in Venice in the middle of the 17th century, and what was being written further north in Vienna and Warsaw or Rome and Florence by composers like Biagio Marini, Tarquino Merula and Antonio Cesti. Masterful accompaniment is provided by the Swiss ensemble il pomo d’oro.

1. Arie, Op. 8 No. 6: “Che si può fare” 09:28
2. Diporti di Euterpe, Op. 7 No. 10: “Mi fa rider la speranza” 03:30
3. Diporti di Euterpe, Op. 7 No. 4: Lamento (Lagrime mie) 08:26
4. Affetti musicali, Op. 1 No. 1: Sinfonia grave La Zorzi 03:25
5. “Speranza ingannatrice” 07:01
6. Canzoni overo sonate concertate per chiesa e camera, Book 3, Op. 12: XIX. Ballo detto Eccardo 02:10
7. Cantate, Ariette e Duetti, Op. 2 No. 17: Il Lamento (Sul Rodano severo) 12:48
8. Statira, principessa di Persia: Sinfonia 01:17
9. Statira, principessa di Persia, Act 1: “Alba, ch’imperli i fiori … Amor, che mascherasti” (Ermosilla) 04:05
10. Musiche Sacre: No. 23, Canzon a 3 05:25
11. Statira, principessa di Persia, Act 2: “Cresce il foco, avvampa il core” (Floralba) 03:01
12. Statira, principessa di Persia, Act 2: “Vanne intrepido” (Statira) 03:43
13. Ariette a voce sola, Op. 6: XVI. Amante loquace (Chi brama in amore) 02:39
14. Sonata sopra “Fuggi dolente core”, Op. 22 No. 21 03:06
15. Arie, Op. 8 No. 4: L’Astratto (Voglio, sì vo’ cantar) 05:27
16. Arie, Op. 8 No. 4: L’Astratto (Misero, i guai m’han da me stesso astratto) 04:22

Emöke Baráth, soprano
Il Pomo d’Oro
Francesco Corti, direction