Emile Parisien Quartet – Double Screening (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Emile Parisien Quartet – Double Screening (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:24 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

Album after album, Emile Parisien refines his self-portrait. He adds some shades. Erases others. And whatever the formation, context or repertoire, the saxophonist maintains his song, his voice and his own immediately identifiable style… Throughout his wide repertoire, the pieces that he has conceived with his quartet (for more than a decade) have always occupied a special place. With pianist Julien Touéry, double bassist Ivan Gélugne and, as a new recruit, drummer Julien Loutelier, Parisien leads this improvisation that touches on the sublime and is ever surprising. With his virtuosity he could have simply stuck to what is conventional. But that word doesn’t resonate with him. Every second of Double Screening explores new territories. He is one of the few saxophonists of his generation to alternate between lyricism and libertarianism in the snap of the finger. Going from laughter to tears is not a paradox in the universe of Emile Parisien’s quartet. It is simply its raison d’être. And, in the end, a way to offer a type of jazz that is more organic than cerebral.  – Marc Zisman

1. Double Screening I 03:16
2. Double Screening II 04:11
3. Spam 1 02:05
4. Hashtag I 02:17
5. Hashtag II 03:59
6. Hashtag III 04:09
7. Hashtag IV 02:50
8. Spam 3 01:58
9. Deux point zero 04:20
10. Elegie pour carte mere 03:48
11. Malware Invasion 07:50
12. Algo 03:46
13. Spam 2 01:12
14. Daddy Long Legs 05:43

Emile Parisien, soprano & tenor saxophone
Julien Touéry, piano
Ivan Gélugne, bass
Julien Loutelier, drums

Recorded and mixed by Philippe Teissier Du Cros at Studio Gil Evans de La Maison de la Culture, Amiens (France), December 2017
Mastered by Klaus Scheuermann