Elinor Frey – Guided by Voices: New Music for Baroque Cello (2019) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Elinor Frey – Guided by Voices: New Music for Baroque Cello (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:21:07 minutes | 1,28 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Groupe Analekta, Inc

Today, the five-string cello is treated as an exotic and rarely-played cousin of the standard cello. However, in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries it was simply one of the many instruments used in the family of bass violins, and was particularly important for virtuosic sonatas and solos. The program of Guided By Voiuces is inspired by the five-string cello’s most enduring work, Bach’s Sixth Solo Suite (BWV 1012). Each movement reveals the instrument’s incredible versatility and remarkable colors.

Elinor Frey explores these qualities further through newly commissioned works for baroque cello, most notably the titular piece by composer Scott Godin based on “O Vis Aeternitatis” of Hildegard Von Bingen and the new work “with concord of sweet sounds” by Isaiah Ceccarelli.

01. guided by voices
02. Minerva
03. Cortile di Pilato
04. With concord of sweet sounds
05. Ricercar
06. Chimera: I. “Night opening its black flower”
07. Chimera: II. “in the shadow of my sorrow”
08. Chimera: III. “we are resurrected”
09. Chimera: IV. “the sky will be lavender”
10. Chimera: V. “an ocean bell sounding”