Elina Duni – Partir (2018) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Elina Duni – Partir (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 47:38 minutes | 757 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

After two albums at the head of a rather jazzy quartet, Elina Duni is now releasing a collection of songs under her own name that evoke love as well as loss and departure. Recorded in the studios La Buissonne in the south of France in July 2017 under the artistic direction of Manfred Eicher from ECM, Partir is undeniably her most personal opus. Her most intimate too. In this album entirely written and produced on her own, the singer from Tirana plays on the piano, on the guitar and on percussions in tunes drawing from a multitude of sources, from folk to popular music: traditional songs from Albania, Kosovo, Armenia, Macedonia, Switzerland and Arabic Andalusia, but also Jacques Brel’s Je ne sais pas, Alain Oulman’s Meu Amor, Domenico Modugno’s Amara Terra Miaor even Let Us Dive In by Duni herself.

To highlight her voice’s expressiveness, she has logically opted for sleek arrangements. In this context, her singing is beautifully emphasised and becomes the common theme throughout her electric repertoire. An organ that can be poignant at times, particularly when she sings about suffering, in a sort of Balkan fado, like a European blues following in the footsteps of Billie Holiday − the ultimate ambassador of human flaws, whom she admires above everything else! The listener comes out dazed by the captivating beauty of what turns out to be Elina Duni’s most stunning album so far… – Marc Zisman

1. Amara Terra Mia 04:17
2. Let Us Dive In 04:44
3. Meu Amor 04:28
4. Lamma Bada Yatathanna 04:16
5. Vishnja 04:07
6. Lusnak Gisher 02:46
7. Oyfn Veg 06:19
8. Kanga E Kurbetit 03:27
9. Ani Kaj Lulije 02:19
10. Vaj Si Kenka 03:40
11. Je ne sais pas 04:20
12. Schönster Abestärn 02:56

Elina Duni, voice, piano, guitar, percussion