Edward Gardner, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Sara Jakubiak – Schoenberg: Erwartung Op. 17 & Pelleas und Melisande Op. 5 (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Edward Gardner, Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Sara Jakubiak – Schoenberg: Erwartung Op. 17 & Pelleas und Melisande Op. 5 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:23 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Chandos

Written only six years apart, these two works share a common narrative of frustrated love, and the concept of the forest as a metaphor for the subconscious mind. Musically they are wildly different, however; Pelleas, which Schoenberg wrote in his late twenties, is the epitome of his late romantic style, indebted to Richard Strauss. Erwartung (his first work for the stage) was written after his conversion to atonality.

Maurice Maeterlinck’s play Pelléas et Mélisande fired the imaginations of several of the greatest composers of the time. Debussy began writing his opera almost immediately after its publication in 1892, and within a decade or so Fauré and Sibelius had created elaborate incidental scores for different stage productions of the play.

Schoenberg composed his tone poem in 1902-1903, for a large-scale (Straussian) orchestra. Schoenberg seems to have put himself into a state of free association to write Erwartung, which he completed in just seventeen days in August 1909. ‘In “Erwartung”, the aim is to represent in slow motion everything that occurs during a single second of maximum spiritual excitement, stretching it out to half an hour’, he wrote. Not only the first solo opera, this is perhaps also the first cinematic one.


Arnold Schoenberg (1874 – 1951): Pelleas und Melisande, Op. 5:

01. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Die ein wenig bewegt
02. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Ein wenig bewegter – Heftig
03. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Sehr warm, in breiter Bewegung
04. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Lebhaft – Etwas zuruckhaltend – Wieder lebhaft
05. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Sehr rasch
06. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Sehr langsam
07. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Sehr langsam, gedehnt.
08. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Langsam
09. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Ein wenig bewegter – Etwas bewegter
10. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Viel rascher; beschleunigend
11. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Sehr langsam – Etwas langsamer
12. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – In gehender Bewegung
13. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra – Breit – Langsam – Nach und nach wieder ins Tempo

Erwartung, Op. 17:

14. Sara Jakubiak – Hier himein?
15. Sara Jakubiak – Ach! Nur der Mond
16. Sara Jakubiak – Ash! Nur der Mond
17. Sara Jakubiak – Er ist auch nicht
18. Sara Jakubiak – Das Mondlicht
19. Sara Jakubiak – Es ist noch da
20. Sara Jakubiak – Oh, es ist heller Tag
21. Sara Jakubiak – Nein, das ist doch
22. Sara Jakubiak – Du siehst wieder dort
23. Sara Jakubiak – Oh! Nicht einmal
24. Sara Jakubiak – Liebster, Liebster