Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis Quintet With Shirley Scott – Jaws In Orbit (1959/2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis Quintet With Shirley Scott – Jaws In Orbit (1959/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:26 minutes | 423 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © RevOla

“Jaws in Orbit” is an album by saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis with organist Shirley Scott recorded in 1959 for the Prestige label.

The group that Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis led with organist Shirley Scott during the latter half of the 1950s was quite accessible and did a great deal to popularize the organ band in jazz. This reissue features the duo joined by bassist George Duvivier, drummer Arthur Edgehill and the obscure trombonist Steve Pulliam for a typically swinging set of basic originals and standards. Highlights include a hard-swinging “Intermission Riff” and “Our Delight.”


01 – Intermission Riff
02 – Can’t Get Out Of This Mood
03 – Foxy
04 – Our Delight
05 – Bahia
06 – Bingo Domingo

Produced by Esmond Edwards. Engineered by Rudy Van Gelder.
Recorded on May 1, 1959 at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ.

Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone
Shirley Scott – organ
Steve Pulliam – trombone
George Duvivier – bass
Arthur Edgehill – drums