Earth, Wind & Fire – Powerlight (1983/2015) [Qobuz 24bit/96kHz]

Earth, Wind & Fire – Powerlight (1983/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 41:09 minutes | 944 MB | Genre: Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Columbia

“Powerlight” is the twelfth studio album by Earth, Wind & Fire, produced by the band’s leader Maurice White for Kalimba Productions, and released in February 1983. went to number 12 and number 4 on the Pop and R&B album charts and the single “Fall in Love with Me” reached number 17 and number 4 on the Pop and R&B charts respectively. “Fall in Love with Me” was also Grammy nominated for Best R&B vocal performance by A Duo or group. Powerlight has been certified gold for selling over 500, 000 copies in the US by the RIAA.

Many groups lose the steam that propelled them to the top; Earth, Wind & Fire, contemporary sound and all, were still blazing when this album was released. “Fall in Love With Me” was the first single. With its festive rhythm and sauntering vocals, it became a number four hit on the Billboard R&B charts and a number 17 pop hit. The percolating single “Side by Side” was the second release. The precise horns, sensuous female backing vocals, and Maurice White’s animated vocals make this an entertaining piece. Though it should have fared better, it settled in at number 15 on the R&B charts. The final release was “Spread Your Love.” The sonically aggressive special effects are contrasted with a soothing chanting chorus. The single peaked at 57. All three of the above feature Maurice White on lead. Throughout the entire album, White’s unifying message is fueled by the aggressive rhythms and relaxing melodies. ~ Craig Lytle

01 – Fall in Love with Me
02 – Spread Your Love
03 – Side by Side
04 – Straight from the Heart
05 – The Speed of Love
06 – Freedom of Choice
07 – Something Special
08 – Hearts to Heart
09 – Miracles