Dwight Yoakam – Second Hand Heart (2015) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Dwight Yoakam – Second Hand Heart (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:57 minutes | 922 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Warner Bros.

Internationally renowned recording artist, songwriter and actor Dwight Yoakam releases his brand-new album, „Second Hand Heart!“. „Second Hand Heart“ marks the multiple Grammy Award winner’s return to the Warner family. Yoakam released a series of albums on Reprise Records beginning with his debut, ‘Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc.,’ in 1986. Yoakam self-produced „Second Hand Heart,“ which was mixed by renowned engineer Chris Lord-Alge, who also co-produced three tracks with Yoakam (“She,” “Believe,” and “The Big Time”). The album features two covers, Anthony Crawford’s “V’s of Birds” and the traditional “Man of Constant Sorrow.” Yoakam penned the other eight songs on his own.

Yoakam has sold more than 25 million albums worldwide, placing him in an elite cadre of internationally acclaimed recording artists. In the USA, he has earned 12 gold albums and nine platinum or multi-platinum albums, including the triple-platinum ‘This Time.’

„Dwight Yoakam recalibrated his career with 2012’s 3 Pears, returning to his former home of Warner and reconnecting to the nerviness of his first albums. With Second Hand Heart, Yoakam continues this unfussy revival, sharpening his attack so the record breezes by at a crisp, crackling clip. Once again, he’s reviving himself through reconnecting the past but what gives Second Hand Heart life is specificity, both in its songs and sound. The former is what makes the greatest initial impression, as it seems as if he’s synthesized all the big Capitol Records acts of 1966 into one bright, ringing sound. To be sure, there’s a fair amount of Bakersfield here, especially apparent on the loping drawl of “Off Your Mind” and the crackerjack rockabilly of “The Big Time,” but the Beatles loom even larger than Buck Owens, surfacing in the chiming 12-strings of “Believe” and harmonies of “She” and evident in the general spirit of adventure that fuels Second Hand Heart. Some of Dwight’s tricks are familiar – the jet propulsion of “Man of Constant Sorrow” borrows a page from the glory days of cowpunk – but his execution is precise and he never lets the record settle in one groove for too long, not even when he tears through “Sorrow,” “Liar,” and “The Big Time” at a breakneck pace. Such sequencing gives Second Hand Heart momentum but what lasts are the songs, a collection of ten tunes all originals save the standard “Sorrow” and the sweet denouement “V’s of Birds” that are sturdy yet sly, their hooks sinking into the subconscious without ever drawing attention to themselves. All this means is that Second Hand Heart is prime Dwight Yoakam: traditional yet modern, flashy yet modest, a record that feels fresh but also like a forgotten classic.“ (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG)

01. In Another World
02. She
03. Dreams Of Clay
04. Second Hand Heart
05. Off Your Mind
06. Believe
07. Man Of Constant Sorrow
08. Liar
09. The Big Time
10. V’s Of Birds