Durand Jones & The Indications – American Love Call (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Durand Jones & The Indications – American Love Call (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 42:35 minutes | 473 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Dead Oceans

Durand Jones & the Indications aren’t looking backwards. Helmed by foil vocalists in Durand Jones and drummer Aaron Frazer, the Indications conjure the dynamism of Jackie Wilson, Curtis Mayfield, AND the Impressions. Even with an aesthetic steeped in the golden, strings-infused dreaminess of early ’70s soul, the Indications’ sophomore LP, American Love Call, is planted firmly in the present, with the urgency of this moment in time. The Indications’ 2016 self-titled debut was the product of friends who met as students at Indiana University in Bloomington, In., recorded for USD452.11, including a case of beer. American Love Call, the band’s sophomore LP is instead the record the Indications dreamed of making, fleshed out with strings, backing vocals, and a newfound confidence in songwriting. Blending a slew of influences from years spent crate-digging, guitarist Blake Rhein says the Indications approach songs in the same way hip-hop producers do, as likely to pull inspiration from ’70s folk-rock or classic R&B as they are Nas’ Illmatic. “Did I expect to do this shit once I got out of college? Hell no,” Jones relays, laughing. “Totally not. But this is what God is telling me to do – move and groove. So I’m gonna stay in my lane.”

With a lively eponymous debut album, Durand Jones & The Indications emerged like a gold nugget discovered in a bayou. Broken hearted, downtrodden and exasperated, the band wrapped Durand Jones’ impressive vocals in late sixties Stax pop. In the ballads, he was so wonderfully sensual that he could’ve melted Mr. Freeze’s factory. And in the up-tempo tracks, he landed punches straight to the solar plexus. These elements are still audible on their second album; American Love Call has simply benefited from extra funding and it shows! Durand Jones & The Indications’ tracks sparkle the whole way through, with a silkier production that moves the time cursor to the seventies. Fans of the O’Jays, Curtis Mayfield or The Delfonics will enjoy Jones’ perfectly mastered falsetto. In short, the vintage soul revival is alive and well.  – Marc Zisman

01. Morning in America
02. Don’t You Know
03. Circles
04. Court of Love
05. Long Way Home
06. Too Many Tears
07. Walk Away
08. What I Know About You
09. Listen to Your Heart
10. Sea Gets Hotter
11. How Can I Be Sure
12. True Love