Douglas Tang – Hereford Experience (2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Douglas Tang – Hereford Experience (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:11:47 minutes | 2,55 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Willowhayne Records

Willowhayne Records presents the fifth volume in the critically acclaimed ‘Experience’ series, recorded on the ‘Father Willis’ organ of Hereford Cathedral. Played by Douglas Tang, this album shows this magnificent instrument to its full potential in music ranging from the early Baroque to the twentieth century, culminating in Whitlock’s ‘Plymouth Suite.’ Douglas Tang is a sought-after British conductor and keyboardist. Currently based in London, he was previously Assistant Director of Music of St. Mary’s Cathedral, Sydney and Chapel Organist of the UNESCO World Heritage site- the Old Royal Naval College, Greenwich. He has also worked at Hereford Cathedral and Croydon Minister aside from having held the prestigious position of Organ Scholar of King’s College, Cambridge. The Hereford organ has been likened to a vintage Rolls Royce car, lovingly maintained, retaining its original and stately majest. Built in 1892 by ‘Father Willis,’ it replaced an earlier Gray and Davison instrument and its display case dates from 1863.

1. Choral Song & Fugue in C Major: Choral Song (03:08)
2. Choral Song & Fugue in C Major: Fugue (04:15)
3. Grand Dialogue (09:30)
4. Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr, BWV 676 (05:07)
5. Prelude & Fugue No. 1 in E Minor “Great”: I. Prelude (01:23)
6. Prelude & Fugue No. 1 in E Minor “Great”: II. Fugue I (05:10)
7. Prelude & Fugue No. 1 in E Minor “Great”: III. Fugue II (02:15)
8. Organ Sonata in D Minor, Op. 65 No. 6, MWV W61: I. Choral. Andante sostenuto – Allegro molto (08:49)
9. Organ Sonata in D Minor, Op. 65 No. 6, MWV W61: II. Fuga. Sostenuto e legato (02:35)
10. Organ Sonata in D Minor, Op. 65 No. 6, MWV W61: III. Finale. Andante (03:03)
11. 3 Psalm-Preludes, Set 2, Op. 32: No. 1, De profundis “Psalm 130” (08:44)
12. Plymouth Suite: I. Allegro risoluto (05:07)
13. Plymouth Suite: II. Lantana (03:12)
14. Plymouth Suite: III. Chanty (02:31)
15. Plymouth Suite: IV. Salix (02:49)
16. Plymouth Suite: V. Toccata (04:09)

Douglas Tang (organ)